How long does it take to make?

An interesting question arose the other day – how long does it take to produce one of my sculptures. I often get asked this and always struggle to give an answer. The question is genuine and how most people make a value judgement.

So this week I began a new series of work; the original idea was formed whilst stewarding in the SCS gallery on the 8th May, 2010. The four pages of sketches have been working, curing, evolving in my brain ever since. Every now and then a piece of news returned the ideas to the front of my mind. So I am now putting those ideas down into a finished artwork, which will be shown when ready. When I come to work out the price (and answer the original question) how much of the intervening nearly six years do I include? This is why I find it hard to answer ‘How long did it take to make’


					
Leave a Reply

